EXERT FROM APPENDIX 1 from Don Featherstone's Battles With Model Soldiers
(The book that got me started.)

"Nothing in these pages is a dictate, no word says you must or you shall do it this way. On the contrary, the book sets out from the very beginning to stimulate the reader to think for himself, and to use what he has read merely as a foundation for efforts and ideas which reflect his own temperament and character. Only in this way will he obtain maximum satisfaction from the hobby of battling with model soldiers."

-Don Featherstone 1918 - 2013

Sunday, January 26, 2014

March to the Sea Concluded.

F
 We resume the tale with the arrival of Brigadier Zinn's brigade.  At this point the Blue army had lost 4 units broken against a break point of 6 and had 1 more unit close to the break point but had also lost 3 out of 4 commanders. Red had not lost any units against a breakpoint of 5 and held the objective but did have 3 units approaching their breakpoint.

There was a short pause as both sides reordered their battle lines covered by their artillery. Red reopened the ball by moving forward the veteran Green Tigers infantry unit to sweep away the Bangor Volunteers with the bayonet, hoping to break through and rout the Blue army. To everyone's surprise the volunteers stood their ground and threw back the the overconfident attack with heavy losses.

The already battered Dover Fusiliers resumed the fight while the Tigers rallied.  Unleashing a shattering volley they charged,  driving the Volunteers back in disorder but failing to break them by 1 hit. The way forward was now open for Zinn's brigade.
 The 2nd infantry led the attack breaking the Dover Regiment then pursuing into the barely rallied Tigers who were only 3 hits from breaking. With no other Red unit left on that side of the field except the battery,  General Turner rode forward to steady the ranks and the 2nd infantry was repulsed. Swiftly rallying,  they pressed forward and engaged in an extended firefight while the Tigers slowly fellback before them and only Turner's influence kept them on the field.

It was now the 1st Infantry's turn. Pushing rapidly forward without pausing to fire,  they threw themselves forward against the stone walls of the town, Brigadier Zinn at their head. Including supports the defenders outnumbered the attackers 3:2 and were bolstered by Brigadier Spye. It was a last forlorn hope.
But it worked! Suddenly  Blue held the objective! They lacked the strength to do more than defend themselves but Red was running short of infantry for a counter offensive. A cavalry attack up the valley to the left drove back an attempt by Blue dragoons to pick off badly battered red units but it was the Red artillery that finally shattered the 2nd Infantry forcing Zinn to concede the battle and withdraw.


14 comments:

  1. Ross, great report! Looked like a fun game.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Replies
    1. It certainly had its moments and a surprise or two for the player.

      Delete
  3. Ahhhh! Gen. Zinn had almost done it!
    Untill the last sentence I was sure he would achieve the objetive.
    Thank you very much for sharing this reports and resulting thoughts. I really have enjoyed them.
    It is a pleasure to see your Faraway-Oberhilse armies in action.
    Some questions about the rules:
    The commanders in Chief also have a card?
    Now Commenders only can join units during the movement phase?
    The retreat movement (double move) is twice the distance rolled (as marching)?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. He came close, he knew he had a duty to others!

      Yes the General gets a card as well, an important one since he commands all units in the army. He may use it to activate one unit anywhere or any or all units within 12" allowing him to coordinate. Remember of course that a unit may only activate once.

      The change to ehen commanders could join was last minute and I am so used to the old way that I never remembered so I think it will go.

      Yes the retreat is double like the march. I need to make a note that a unit may shoot then charge but does not move doublr in that case.

      Delete
  4. Some more questions:
    according to the rules:
    "A player must declare what all of the units being activated by a commander will do before he rolls any movement or shooting dice".
    Is this not very difficult? Untested version says "a unit"
    What happens if the distance rolled is not enough to do what you have declared?
    Is shaken interchangable with under-strength?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes it is difficult that is the reason. There are 2 reasons though. One is that if a commander wants to keep his force together he must proceed carefully. If one orders a move thst needs a good roll, it might happen or there msy be a delay or the men might falter and be caught at a disadvantage.

      The 2nd reason is practical, some players would take too long to decide what they wanted to do and then would change their mind after they roller and start all over to plan their move.

      Yes shaken and understrength mean the same thing. Sometimed I could use an editor.

      Delete
  5. Thanks for your answer.
    Another doubt:
    "...General Scott decided to risk a quick charge by his volunteer cavalry while the Light Horse moved ahead to secure the road entrance to the pass leading to the harbor. The Peipur Tigers responded by rolling 4" on 3 dice, even doubled for the charge that was no where near enough so they wheeled to face the Red infantry but the moment had passed and next turn they were ordered to support the light horse..."

    I am not sure if I have understood: Did Gen. Scott change after rolling what he have declared or The Peipur Tigers done just as much as they could with the amount of movement the received?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes, that is it, they moved as far as they could. They had facing up the road so had to wheel to face directly to the enemy before advancing so did not get far. Lucky for them that the move had not been just a little farther since where they paused was fairly safe.

      Delete
    2. Thanks Ross, very clear.
      Another doubt, the report says:
      "...With the Brigadier removed only 1 unit in the Brigade would be able to move or initiate combat each turn, the rest could only defend themselves by returning fire or reacting to a charge..."
      As the Brigadier´s card is removed with him: At which point of the turn can these units do this actions?

      Delete
  6. Good report. It's nice to see Mac Duff get another airing. I look forward to your thoughts on what worked.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks. I'm not sure if those thoughts will come this week or after the next game.

      Delete
  7. Ahh but is only the General whose card is removed when he is removed, not the other commanders. I should clarify that or maybe just remove that rule since there may be units not assigned to a brigade, something I had forgotten.

    ReplyDelete